Soccer Betting - An Introduction
Soccer Player Tips for Better Performance
Indoor Soccer to go High Tech
Soccer in Scotland
Guide To Be A Successful Soccerpunter
Soccer in Scotland
By Stuart Noble

Scotland has throughout its history been playing Soccer. Historically Scottish soccer players weren’t limited to 11 players per team, whole villages of Scottish soccer devotees used to challenge other villages to a game.

The rules of soccer at that point weren’t very uniform and there was little if any provisions against violence, because of this attempts were made to outlaw the game, with King James I even saying in Parliament, "That na man play at the Fute-ball" (No man shall play football/soccer). Despite the attempts of clerics, sheriffs, mayors and even a King the game was kept alive by Scottish soccer players.

As times changed Soccer became a widely accepted sport again, firstly being played at school and universities. At these institutions the rules for soccer were formalized to something closely resembling today’s game. The game’s popularity then spread beyond the school campuses, and local soccer clubs were formed, soccer became a popular spectator sport with “blue-collar workers”.

With the wide acceptance and popularity of soccer, the World's first international game was set up, between Scotland and England. The game took place on 30 November 1872. The Scottish side was one of Scotland’s oldest and most established Soccer club, Queens Park. Two thousand people came to the game and saw the last and possibly biggest revolution in the playing of the game. The Scottish team introduced a whole new aspect to the game that day, a team based approach utilizing, passing. Up till then the way the game was played was to “muscle” the ball up the field in Rugby like fashion, after that game the English began adopting a playing style to match the Scottish soccer team, and Soccer in its current form was born.

The Scottish soccer team did not exist that day in the form that we now understand; soccer was played by Universities or Clubs, with no central organization to elect a national team. There was no Scottish team picked from the best players around, but a club to represent the whole country. To cope and control the rising popularity of the game Scotland formed a Football Association three month after the first match between England and Scotland. Wales then followed and formed a FA in 1875, and then Ireland in 1880. England on the other hand had formed their Football Association in 1863. With the formation of a Football Association, Scotland was able to establish leagues, tournament and even a national team.

With forty two different professional teams over two different leagues, it is understandable that Scotland has some of the most dedicated Soccer fans in the world; this also applies to the female fans. Scotland has also always had a strong legion of female soccer lovers and players. Seeming to always be pioneers in the game Scotland and England were also the first two countries to have an international woman’s match. Fifty three thousand people came to watch this event, in which unfortunately the Scottish soccer team lost 22-0.

Soccer is in the hearts of the Scotts, it always was, and always will be part of their heritage. Visit us at Scottish Heirloom Jewelry, to see how we can help you celebrate your heritage and love of soccer.

Scottish Soccer - league winners

1892 Dunbarton
1893 Celtic Glasgow
1894 Celtic Glasgow
1895 Heart of Midlothian
1896 Celtic Glasgow
1897 Heart of Midlothian
1898 Celtic Glasgow
1899 Glasgow Rangers
1900 Glasgow Rangers
1901 Glasgow Rangers
1902 Glasgow Rangers
1903 Hibernian
1904 Third Lanark
1905 Celtic Glasgow
1906 Celtic Glasgow
1907 Celtic Glasgow
1908 Celtic Glasgow
1909 Celtic Glasgow
1910 Celtic Glasgow
1911 Glasgow Rangers
1912 Glasgow Rangers
1913 Celtic Glasgow
1914 Celtic Glasgow
1915 Celtic Glasgow
1916 Celtic Glasgow
1917 Celtic Glasgow
1918 Glasgow Rangers
1919 Celtic Glasgow
1920 Glasgow Rangers
1921 Glasgow Rangers
1922 Celtic Glasgow
1923 Glasgow Rangers
1924 Glasgow Rangers
1925 Glasgow Rangers
1926 Celtic Glasgow
1927 Glasgow Rangers
1928 Glasgow Rangers
1929 Glasgow Rangers
1930 Glasgow Rangers
1931 Glasgow Rangers
1932 Motherwell
1933 Glasgow Rangers
1934 Glasgow Rangers
1935 Glasgow Rangers
1936 Celtic Glasgow
1937 Glasgow Rangers
1938 Celtic Glasgow
1939 Glasgow Rangers

1947 Glasgow Rangers
1948 Hibernian
1949 Glasgow Rangers
1950 Glasgow Rangers
1951 Hibernian Glasgow
1952 Hibernian Glasgow
1953 Glasgow Rangers
1954 Celtic Glasgow
1955 Aberdeen Celtic
1956 Glasgow Rangers
1957 Glasgow Rangers
1958 Heart Of Midlothian
1959 Glasgow Rangers
1960 Heart Of Midlothian
1961 Glasgow Rangers
1962 Dundee
1963 Glasgow Rangers
1964 Glasgow Rangers
1965 Kilmarnock
1966 Celtic Glasgow
1967 Celtic Glasgow
1968 Celtic Glasgow
1969 Celtic Glasgowv
1970 Celtic Glasgow
1971 Celtic Glasgow
1972 Celtic Glasgow
1973 Celtic Glasgow
1974 Celtic Glasgow
1975 Glasgow Rangers
1976 Glasgow Rangers
1977 Celtic Glasgow
1978 Glasgow Rangers
1979 Celtic Glasgow
1980 Aberdeen Celtic
1981 Celtic Glasgow
1982 Celtic Glasgow
1983 Dundee United
1984 Aberdeen Celtic
1985 Aberdeen
1986 Celtic Glasgow
1987 Glasgow Rangers
1988 Celtic Glasgow
1989 Glasgow Rangers
1990 Glasgow Rangers
1991 Glasgow Rangers
1992 Glasgow Rangers
1993 Glasgow Rangers
1994 Glasgow Rangers
1995 Glasgow Rangers
1996 Glasgow Rangers
1997 Glasgow Rangers
1998 Celtic Glasgow
1999 Glasgow Rangers
2000 Glasgow Rangers
2001 Celtic Glasgow
2002 Celtic Glasgow
2003 Glasgow Rangers

The Author, a Scot, is Stuart Noble, the founder and Chief Executive of the Scottish Heirloom Jewelry Company, manufacturing jewelers, specializing in the production of Scottish Family Clan Crest Jewellery.

You can publish this article if the author's byline is included and all links are hyperlinked.